• WBST 92.1 FMMuncie
  • WBSB 89.5 FMAnderson
  • WBSW 90.9 FMMarion
  • WBSH 91.1 FMHagerstown / New Castle
Indiana Public Radio, a listener-supported service of Ball State University

Community Advisory Board

The Indiana Public Radio Advisory Council was established in 1997, and operated under bylaws adopted in the same year. In 2014, Indiana Public Radio and WIPB-TV were reorganized, and on March 11, 2015 the Advisory Council recognized the synergy between the broadcast stations and adopted new bylaws to support the change. The Council continues to represent Indiana Public Radio: WBST Muncie, WBSB Anderson, WBSH Hagerstown/New Castle, and WBSW Marion, and also represents Ball State PBS (formerly WIPB).

The Advisory Council Members serve as the Ambassadors for both stations while advising and assisting in matters of awareness and support of Public Broadcasting. While the Council does not act on specific matters of programming, management, operations, or policy, it does provide important input regarding the role of Public Broadcasting throughout the service area to station management. Council Members serve as advocates and spokespersons, assist in identifying prospects and in fundraising, identify and recruit volunteers, serve as local resources for community information and introductions, are financial supporters of one or both stations, and contribute to the overall success of the Advisory Council.

Advisory Council Meetings

As a recipient of a Community Service Grant from the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, IPR complies with Section 396(k)(5) of the Communications Act.

Open Meeting Policy

Advisory Council meetings are open to the public, as required by Section 396(k)(5) of the Communications Act. Under the statutory definition of “meeting,” Advisory Council meetings are open to the public whenever a quorum is in attendance, and deliberations are taking place which relates to the activities of the Council.

Advisory Council Membership

The Advisory Council represents the diverse interests of Indiana Public Radio and WIPB-TV, with three members offering perspectives from each of the following regional divisions:

  1. Adams, Blackford, Jay, and Wells Counties Region;
  2. Grant, Howard, Miami, Tipton, and Wabash Counties Region;
  3. Hamilton, Hancock, Johnson, Madison, Marion, and Shelby Counties Region;
  4. Delaware County Region;
  5. Decatur, Fayette, Franklin, Henry, Randolph, Rush, Union and Wayne Counties Region.

Council members are appointed for a term of three years, and may serve no more than two consecutive terms.

The General Manager is an ex-officio member and officer of the Advisory Council. A designated station employee serves as Recording Secretary and is also an ex-officio member of the council and executive committee.

Individuals who are interested in serving on the Advisory Council are encouraged to contact Indiana Public Radio at (765) 285-5888 or 800-646-1812, or WIPB-TV at (765) 285-1249 or 800-252-9472.

Executive Committee

Yvonne Thompson, Chairperson

John Dockery, Vice Chairperson

Kristiaan Rawlings, Secretary

Advisory Council Members

Brad Edmondson, Patricia Gibson, Sara Gullion, Bill Henry, Kylie Jackson, Darin Miller, Myra Smith, Michael Statler, Krystal Stanich and Lisa Weeks


Margaret Reeder
(765) 285-5888