• WBST 92.1 FMMuncie
  • WBSB 89.5 FMAnderson
  • WBSW 90.9 FMMarion
  • WBSH 91.1 FMHagerstown / New Castle
Indiana Public Radio, a listener-supported service of Ball State University
Listen Live Online. Tap to open audio stream.

Taylor University Names New President

By Stephanie Wiechmann, IPR News | Published on in Education, Faith and Religion, Local News
D. Michael Lindsay (Photo: Mark Spooner)

Taylor University in Upland is naming its newest president.  As IPR’s Stephanie Wiechmann reports, he currently leads another small private Christian school and has had great success fundraising there.

D. Michael Lindsay is currently the president of Gordon College in Massachusetts, which has a similar size, graduation rate, and cost to attend as Taylor University.

Taylor trustees, who elected Lindsay unanimously, say Gordon College achieved record results in fundraising and endowment growth under Lindsay’s decade-long leadership, including netting an anonymous gift of $75.5 million – the largest gift ever given to a Christian college.

Lindsay says students and alumni of faith-based colleges have a deep commitment of shared unity and loyalty to the institution that’s not seen at some larger schools and that culture will help Taylor continue to thrive.

“My expectation is that I’ll have lots of opportunities to get to know the Taylor campus.  But also I look forward to getting out on the road, to helping to raise more support and resources to create opportunities for the students, faculty, and staff on campus.”

Lindsay has earned degrees at Baylor University, Princeton University, and at Princeton and Oxford theological seminaries.  He has authored several books and was nominated for a Pulitzer Prize for nonfiction writing in 2007 for Faith in the Halls of Power, about evangelical Christian leaders leading in all aspects of society.

Lindsay will begin his term as Taylor’s next president in mid-August.  He takes over for interim president Paige Comstock Cunningham, who has served since August 2019.  That was after previous president, Paul Lowell Haines resigned after three years without giving a reason.