• WBST 92.1 FMMuncie
  • WBSB 89.5 FMAnderson
  • WBSW 90.9 FMMarion
  • WBSH 91.1 FMHagerstown / New Castle
Indiana Public Radio, a listener-supported service of Ball State University
Listen Live Online. Tap to open audio stream.

Madison County state senator to run for re-election in new district

By Stephanie Wiechmann, IPR News | Published on in Government, Local News, Politics
State senators Mike Gaskill, left, and Tim Lanane, right, will live in the same legislative district in 2022. (Photos provided)

State Sen. Mike Gaskill (R-Pendleton) says he’s running for re-election in a district that will have a new number, boundaries, and another incumbent lawmaker come the 2022 election.

The Republican currently represents district 26.  It includes portions of Madison, Delaware, and Henry counties.  As of the November 2022 election, Gaskill will live in district 25, which will include all of Madison County and a small portion of Hamilton County.

Sen. Tim Lanane (D-Anderson), a former Senate minority leader,  currently represents district 25 and will remain in the district when the new maps take effect.

Read More: Republicans Unveil Proposed Indiana Senate Redistricting Map

Gaskill was first elected in 2018, replacing a retiring GOP senator.  Lanane was first appointed to the Indiana Senate in 1997, won a full-term in 1998, and has represented District 25 in all of its various boundaries since then.

Lanane hasn’t said if he’ll run again in the new district 25.  He’s told local media that the new boundaries are more favorable for Republicans, but a Democrat can win with a lot of work.

New district maps have also created a new district in Delaware and Randolph counties with no sitting senator.